The Nyachilo Outreach Station is situated at around 1200 m above sea level in a remote area that neighbors a natural forest managed collaboratively by the central government through department of forest and the local communities through village environmental committees.

Villagers residing around the Nyachilo outreach station (Luguru farmers) are mainly crops farmers whose major crops are cassava, yams, maize, beans and banana.They also practice sustainable natural resource use activities such as beekeeping.

Kibogwa Outreach Station is situated in Kibogwa ward on the downstream area of Nyachilo outreach station around 500m above sea level.

Local communities (Luguru farmers) around this outreach station are famous for production of spicy crops including vanilla, clove cardamom, cinnamon and hot pepper.

The local communities also grow maize, yams, banana, coconut and upland and rain-fed paddy. The spices are largely intended for improvement of household income.

Welcoming note to the Department of Policy Planning and Management (DPPM)

You are welcome to the Department of Policy Planning and Management (DPPM), one of the three academic departments within the Campus College of Social Sciences and Humanities (CSSH). The Department is principally involved in the triple functions of academic teaching, scientific research and service to the community, encompassing economic, political and social aspects of development policy and management. The Department seeks to contribute to achieving national development through strengthening national capacities in policy planning and management. In so doing, the Department is envisioned to create a teaching and learning environment that fosters dedication, cooperation and reward for hard work, initiative and creativity, while embracing the highest level of professional ethics, openness, fairness and honesty.

In terms of programmes, the Department offers demand driven training programmes, conducts policy analysis and provides services on policy related issues to a wide range of stakeholders, including the Government. The department has competent staff in the areas of Poverty and Policy Analysis, Project Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation, Development Planning and Management, governance and institutions analysis. The department draws on diverse but complementary competencies within and outside the university to compete effectively in the globalized world. 

In a view to t effectively accomplish its roles and functions, the Department seeks to adopt the following strategies:   undertaking continuous quality improvement of training program through curricula review and development of new programs; conducting action oriented research, collaborating with local and international organizations; and exploring new areas for research and capacity building.

Welcome to DPPM where the Policy leaders are groomed.

Mbinga outreach station is located in Mbinga district within the Miombo Woodland Agro-ecological Zone. The area is important for its indigenous vegetations of Miombo woodland forest with tree species including Brachystegia spps and Jubernaldia spp. Crops cultivated in this area include coffee which is the main cash crop, and maize, beans, and wheat which are largely food crops.

The residents inhabiting around this outreach station are the Matengo people who are well recognized by their indigenous farming technology locally termed as ngolo (Matengo pits) which has been practiced over the area for allegedly more than 100 years. This technology conserves soil and water in the steep sloping highlands where crops farming is practiced.

Welcome to Department of Language Studies
The Department of Language Studies, formerly known as the Department of Social Sciences, was established in December 2015. It is determined to become a leader at Sokoine University of Agriculture and worldwide in the use of technology to advance the teaching and learning of languages.  
The Department of Language Studies offers a range of academic courses which cater to the needs of diverse group of students at Sokoine University of Agriculture, including Communication Skills I and Communication Skills II. It is currently working on the establishment of a BA in English and English Language Teaching degree programme which is expected to be launched soon. In addition, the Department has also focused attention on enhancing learning opportunities for the national language of Tanzania, Swahili, and other international languages, including Chinese and French.
The mandate of the Department includes the delivery of a broader range of language and interdisciplinary programmes that support the mission of Sokoine University of Agriculture and enhance the global and cross-cultural education for our undergraduate students in order to enable them become competitive graduates in their areas of specialization and leaders in their prospective careers. The department's faculty members take pride in their innovative approach to language study in which they combine the practice of language, the spirit of cultures, and the teaching and learning processes associated with the understanding and application of languages.

About the Department
The Department of Language Studies belongs to the College of Social Sciences and Humanities, at Sokoine University of Agriculture. In this Department, you can find out researchers, teachers and administrative staff who are committed to delivering effective and efficient services in the areas of language and language teaching.  
The Department offers courses to cater to the needs of English language for students pursuing different degree programme at Sokoine University of Agriculture. The courses include Communication Skills I and Communication Skills II.  The Communication Skills I entails Language and Grammar and it is offered in the First, Third, and Fifth semesters as an Elective but Mandatory to only those classified as poor in English, upon taking the University Screening Test. The Communication Skills II course is on Academic Study skills. This course is a compulsory 2-credit course, offered in the Second Semester for all undergraduate students. This course is offered on assumption that at this time most (if not all) students would have acquired appreciable knowledge of English to enable them benefit from communication skills studies and thus participate meaningfully in the application of such knowledge in other university courses.
Currently, the Department is preparing to start offering a Bachelor of Arts in English and English Language Teaching degree programme, a programme that seeks to prepare competent English language teachers, tutors and curriculum developers.

Staff Profile
The Department of Language Studies has a total of 12 members of academic staff, including 3 PhD holders and 8 Master’s degree holders. These have great skills and knowledge in diverse areas of specialization such as linguistics, French language, English language, curriculum development and evaluation, educational research, educational testing and measurements, philosophy and psychology. In addition, the Department has 2 Administrative Staff, including an Office Management Secretary and Office Attendant. The current staff profile is as follows: